Northern Neck, VA

Home Page         Tidewater Area         Researchers


rw-sponsor.gif (2061 bytes)                                     emailbar.jpg (2037 bytes)





The Northern Neck Area of Virginia now comprises the area around Washington D.C.  But, in trying to trace our ancestors from the early times in Virginia, we have learned to find the counties in existance for the time period we are searching.    This is for 1634 - 1757 only.  More counties were formed after that.

Here is a break down of the counties, when they were formed and from what other counties.
(from Ancestry REDBOOK )

The Original Counties of Virginia in 1634

Accawmack Co. renamed Northampton 1642/3 records transferred
Northumberland formed from Chickacoan Indian District - 1645/8  
Charles River Co. later named York County  1641/2 records transferred to York Co.
New Norfolk Co. Split into Upper & Lower Norfolk in 1637  
Lower Norfolk Co. abolished in 1691 records housed in City of Chesapeake
Upper Norfolk Co. renamed Nansemond, 1642/3 records transferred
Elizabeth City Co. records now found in City of Hampton (1952)  
Warwick River Co. renamed Warwick 1642/3 -then incorp. with city of Warwick in 1951 & merged with City of Newport News in 1958 - all records transferred
Isle of Wight Co. was Warrosquyoake, renamed in 1637  
James City Co.    
Charles City Co.    
Henrico Co.    

In 1651-1660 new counties were formed from the above and I will try to detail the Northern Neck counties here & the Tidewater counties on the Tidewater page.   Other counties will be dealt with on the VA/MD page.  Just remember, this is a guide only and I can be easily confused when dealing with all of the splits, etc.  So be sure to recheck when looking for your old records.

Gloucester Co. 1651 - from York County
New Kent Co. 1654 - from York County
Lancaster Co. 1651 - from York Co. & Northumberland Co.
Old Rappahannock Co.
-  Essex Co. -
1656 - from York Co. 
BUT - abolished in 1692 and renamed Essex Co. -records transferred
Westmoreland Co. 1653 - from Northumberland Co.
Surry Co. 1652 - from James City Co.


Middlesex Co. 1669 - from Lancaster Co.
Stafford Co. 1664 - from Westmoreland Co. (See King George below on boundary change)

1671- 1680 - no new counties created

Norfolk Co. 1691- from Lower Norfolk Co. - merged with City of Chesapeake, 1963 & records transferred to City of Chesapeake.  Some records may also be in City of Portsmouth
Richmond Co. 1692 - from Old Rappanock


King George Co. 1721 - from Richmond Co.  (in 1776 a major boundary change happened that caused the lower portion of Stafford to become King George & the uppper half of King George to become Stafford)


Prince William Co. 1731 - from Stafford / King George Co. (before the major boundary split in 1776 so was not effected.


Fairfax Co. 1742 - from Prince William Co.


Loudoun Co. 1757 - from Fairfax Co.

Home Page     Tidewater Area

emailbar.jpg (2037 bytes)