Ohio-Lands Logo

"Ohio Lands - A Short History"
The Northwest Territory

Map of NorthWest Territory


The Ordinance of July 13, 1787 provided "...there shall be formed in said territory, not less than three nor more than five states..." The original boundaries were defined as: Eastern State (numbers 1,2,3,4); Middle State (numbers 5,6,7,8,9) and Western State (numbers 10,11,12,13,14,15). These divisions are marked by broken lines on the map.

Congress later decided to divide the Northwest Territory into the states of Ohio (1803), Indiana (1816), Illinois (1818), Michigan (1837), Wisconsin (1848) and Minnesota (1858); as shown by the heavy solid lines on the map.

Map Source: Biographical Directory-General Assembly
of Ohio 1929-1930: Columbus, 1931.

Copyright 1994 by the Ohio Auditor of State All Rights Reserved.
FOR FREE DISTRIBUTION ONLY. Researched and written by
Thomas Aquinas Burke, Internet Address F491.3 B86 1994 977.1
Eighth Edition - September 1996

"Ohio Lands - A Short History"
ReTyped & Graphics Rescanned December 1997
by Maggie Stewart-Zimmerman
Email at Maggie Stewart

This booklet is available on the Auditor of State home page under
Publications at: http://www.auditor.state.oh.us/

Ohio Lands - A Short History Quick Index
OHIO-LANDS Mailing List | Table of Contents | Introduction |
| Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 | Part 5 | Part 6 | Part 7 Part 8 |
Part 9 | Part 10 | Part 11 | Part 12

Erie County OHGenWeb Page
Franklin County OHGenWeb Page
Free Lookup Database Queries Page
Huron County OHGenWeb Page
Knox County OHGenWeb Page
Medina County OHGenWeb Page
Miami County OHGenWeb Page
Sandusky County OHGenWeb Page
OHGenWeb Clickable Map
Ohio County Information Page
Genealogy Services & Family History Information Page
Maggie's World of Courthouse Dust & Genealogy Home Page

Hosted by Rootsweb

Email Maggie

© 1999 - 2010 by Maggie Stewart-Zimmerman